Sleeve pics question

geist

This is my second question for today. I sent in some label scans to the rolldabeats gmail address the other day. The label scans are no problem - I have a scanner that will scan anything that is up to 8.5x14".

However, I can't scan a record sleeve as it is too big. With most of my submissions this did not matter because the sleeves were generic, but with the one release I took some (what I think are) decent photos with a digital camera.

My question is, should I bother? The pictures aren't perfect. I'm not a professional photographer, and the one glaring problem (pun intended) is, well, glare spots. If I turn the flash off the camera, the light that is behind me, or to the side of the sleeve always has a glare spot. If I leave the flash on, the picture has a distinct glare spot. The best I can do is photograph with the sleeve at a slight angle so the glare lands on a part of the sleeve that isn't so interesting. But this is less than professional and if people out there are planning on doing a better job instead and I shouldn't bother, then let me know. The submissions I make are of records that I'm recording to computer, then putting away for good in sealed mylar sleeves so if I don't photograph them now, somebody else will have to or else nobody.

Good question and to that extent, I was thinking of getting an A3 scanner, but unlike bog-standard A4 scanners that they pratically give away these days, A3 scanners can cost an arm & a leg.

However many scan results don't seem to be ideal either, and I do think photography is probably the most effective method for capturing these images. But probably needs things like special vertical tripods & proper lighting (although with tripod, lighting can be poor - just decrease shutter speed - can you even do them things with these new-fangled digital cameras or is that still the exclusive domain of SLR's?)

Would like to hear other peoples input on this matter.